Seventeen Syllables and Other Stories

  • Sale
  • Regular price

From the Back Cover

Seventeen Syllables and Other Stories now brings together nineteen stories that span Hisaye Yamamoto's forty-year career. Yamamoto's themes include the cultural conflicts between the first generation, the Issei, and their children, the Nisei; coping with prejudice; and the mass incaceration of Japanese Americans in World War II.

In addition to the contents of the original volume, this edition brings back into print the following works:

  • Death Rides the Rails to Poston
  • Eucalyptus
  • A Fire in Fontana
  • Florentine Gardens

About the Author

Hisaye Yamamoto received the 1986 American Book Award for Lifetime Achievement from the Before Columbus Foundation. Seventeen Syllables received the 1988 Award for Literature from the Association for Asian American Studies.